Celebration of Agriculture

Celebration of Agriculture 2022

The Celebration of Agriculture event provides an opportunity to thank those involved with all aspects of agribusiness. Attendees at this event play a vital role in building and growing a dynamic agricultural industry.

Watch the video from our 34th Annual Celebration of Ag event!

The 34th Annual Celebration of Agriculture dinner featured a keynote address from Jann Carl, co-host of the syndicated television show, Small Town Big Deal. Shining a spotlight on fascinating events, places and people from all over the United States, Small Town Big Deal brings national attention to small towns across America. Currently residing in Los Angeles, Carl’s roots in the Midwest shaped her formative years. In 1982 she was named the U.S. Maid of Cotton and worked alongside farmers, industry leaders and the USDA in the cotton industry, promoting U.S. grown cotton across America and the world. The opportunity, Carl says, was tremendous to see how one crop influenced so many people’s lives in so many different industries.

For the most recent local COVID-19 updates please visit https://www.linncounty.org/1372/COVID-19

For more information and resources regarding coronavirus, please see www.cedarrapids.org/coronavirus.

Past Event Speakers

  • 1987 Dr. Gordon Eaton, President, Iowa State University
  • 1988 Chet Randolph, Host of “Market to Market”
  • 1989 Victor Lischenko, Soviet Economist
  • 1990 John Block, Former U.S. Secretary of agriculture
  • 1991 Cooper Evans, Former Special Assistant to the President
  • 1992 Orion Samuelson, Broadcaster, WGN, Chicago
  • 1993 Ed Madigan, Former U.S. Secretary of Agriculture
  • 1994 Martin Andreas, Archer Daniels Midland
  • 1995 Dr. Martin Jischke, President, Iowa State University
  • 1996 Roy Reiman, Owner, Reiman Publications
  • 1997 Dr. David Kohl, Professor, Virginia Tech
  • 1998 Merlin Olsen, Spokesperson, Pioneer Hi-Bred Inc
  • 1999 Mark Pearson, Host of “Market to Market”
  • 2000 Thomas Vilsack, Governor of Iowa
  • 2001 Richard Fritz, Former U.S. Secretary of Agriculture
  • 2002 Dan Glickman, Former U.S. Secretary of Agriculture
  • 2003 Catherine E. Woteki, Dean of Agriculture, Iowa State University
  • 2004 Kenneth M. Quinn, President, The World Food Prize Foundation
  • 2005 Ann M. Veneman, Former U.S. Secretary of Agriculture
  • 2006 Robert Dineen, President & CEO, Renewable Fuels Association
  • 2007 Dr. Lowell Catlett, Dean of Agriculture, New Mexico State University
  • 2008 Mike Johanns, Former U.S. Secretary of Agriculture
  • 2009 Baxter Black, Cowboy Poet
  • 2010 Frank Rydzewski, The University of Iowa Tippie College of Business
  • 2011 Dr. Lowell Catlett, Dean of Agriculture, New Mexico State University
  • 2012 John Phipps, Host of U.S. Farm Report
  • 2013 Damian Mason, Professional Speaker, Writer & Farmer
  • 2014 Jolene Brown, Farmer, Author, Professional Speaker
  • 2015 Dr. Steven Leath, President, Iowa State University
  • 2016 Dr. Lowell Catlett, Dean of Agriculture, New Mexico State University
  • 2017 Robert White, VP of Industry Relations, Renewable Fuels Association
  • 2018 Dr. Wendy Wintersteen, President, Iowa State University
  • 2019 Tyne Morgan, Host of U.S. Farm Report at Farm Journal Media
  • 2020 - Cancelled due to Covid-19
  • 2021 - Cancelled due to Covid-19

Email News Straight to Your Inbox!

Get updates on Business Support, Economic Development & Workforce, Public Policy,
Community Development, leadership programs, regional news & more!

Sign Up Today