Downtown Commission

Downtown Cedar Rapids

Downtown SSMID Commission

Joe Ahmann, Ahmann Companies
Wendi Cigrand, Alliant Energy 
Dave Drown, GLD Commercial Real Estate Advisors
Jon Dusek, Armstrong Development 
Emily Ellingson (Chair), Lynch Dallas, P.C.
Darryl High, High Property Management
Jeff Janssen, Skogman Companies
Ted Kepros, Kepros Physical Therapy and Performance 
James Klein, Cedar Rapids Bank & Trust
Sarah Madsen, UFG Insurance 
Randy Rings, TrueNorth 
Jake Ryan, ImOn
David Sorg, OPN Architects
Craig Stephan, Iowa Brewing Company
Joe Terfler, GreatAmerica Financial Services

In 1986, a Self-Supported Municipal Improvement District (SSMID) was created by vote of the downtown property owners for community development, streetscape and beautification improvements. They agreed to tax themselves as an additional assessment every year to revitalize the area.

Today, the Downtown Commission is composed of property owners or their representatives appointed by the Mayor to continue these initiatives, and remain visionaries in planning for the vitality of downtown Cedar Rapids. The Downtown SSMID Commission works closely with the Economic Alliance to help carry out the commission’s strategic plan and meet its goals. The Cedar Rapids Mayor and Cedar Rapids City Manager sit on the Commission as ex-officio members,

2017 was a renewal year for the Downtown District. The last decade has been filled with successes and you can read more about them in the Downtown 10 Year Report that details the district's history, how it has built value and see the objectives for the next 10 years.

Downtown SSMID Meeting Agendas



Downtown SSMID Meeting Minutes




Email News Straight to Your Inbox!

Get updates on Business Support, Economic Development & Workforce, Public Policy,
Community Development, leadership programs, regional news & more!

Sign Up Today